Rockcatz – Benjamin

Release Date: February 28, 2011
Label: Pony Canyon (Korea)


  1. ABC Song
  2. 카쿠타 (Kakuta)
  3. Benjamin [MV]
  4. 점핑스타 (Jumping Star)
  5. La-Li-La La La
  6. Nothing
  7. 연애망상 (Love Delusion) [MV]

This album has been sitting on the periff of my rock vision since its release in February. Because of seeing the video I was kind of worried that I wouldn’t like them. I finally took the bait and gave it a listen to review it for our dear YAM readers. For the first few songs, the sugery sweet sounds of the lead vocalist completely turned me off.  I can stand some singers with high pitched voices, a prime example being Jung-Hyun Lee, but this is just a little too glitter bubble gummy for me.

At the start of La-Li-La La La she slows things down and proves to me that she does have a lovely singing voice, but picks back up with the chipmunk impressions halfway through the song. The title track Benjamin is actually really well written. I enjoy the up-beat melody and I think the rest of the band works really well together. I might try to get over her high voice if I can because I think there might be something to this band. She finally slows things down for 연애망상 (Love Delusion) and I really do enjoy her voice. Let’s hope that the next time they come out with an album, they tone down the sugar and amp up the rock.

Best track: 연애망상 (Love Delusion)

Rating: ★★☆☆☆ 

Preview and buy on Soribada | Like it? Buy it on YesAsia


Part-time student, full-time media whore, fan of all things Asian.

1 Response

  1. March 26, 2014

    […] A not quite as enthusiastic review as the ones above was offered by Kamala-Chan over at YAM Magazine: Rockcatz – Benjamin […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.