Derek Trucks Band, The – Roadsongs

Release date: June 21, 2010
Label: Sony Legacy



  1. I’ll Find my Way
  2. Down in the Flood
  3. Sailing On
  4. Get What You Deserve
  5. Days is Almost Gone
  6. Already Free
  7. Afro Blue


  1. I Know
  2. Down Don’t Bother Me
  3. Don’t Miss Me
  4. Rastaman Chant
  5. Key to the Highway
  6. Get Out my Life Woman/Who Knows
  7. Anyday

The Derek Trucks Band’s two-disc live album contains 14 tracks of old school American rock n’ roll and blues. Even though Trucks’ guitar may not be as recognizable as Santana’s is around the world, Roadsongs makes for a compelling performance that actually gets better with repeat listens. And that’s the thing about American rock n’ roll, it isn’t as hip as British rock n’ roll, and it isn’t commercial as pop punk, punk rock or pop rock.

Roadsongs doesn’t rely on catchy melodies, quoteable verses, or an image. Members of the DTB could be wearing a shirt or a t-shirt, long hair or short… it doesn’t matter, they still get together to jam. Perfect to listen to on a warm afternoon on your screened porch.

Highlights? Down in the Flood, Sailing On, Days is Almost Gone, Key to the Highway

Rating: ★★★¼☆ 

Preview on | Like it? Buy the album on Amazon.comiTunes


YAM Magazine editor, photographer, blogger, translator and part-time web designer. Film junkie, music junkie… and lately series (a.k.a. TV) junkie.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.