Madeleine Peyroux – Bare Bones

Release date: March 10, 2009
Label: Rounder, Universal


  1. Instead
  2. Bare Bones
  3. Damn the Circumstances
  4. River of Tears
  5. You Can’t do Me
  6. Love and Treachery
  7. Our Lady of Pigalle
  8. Homeless Happiness
  9. To Love You All Over Again
  10. I Must Be Saved
  11. Somethin’ Grand

It might be her soothing voice and the simple yet beautiful melody, or maybe it’s the French name… but there must be something that makes Madeleine Peyroux worth listening to. Jazz certainly isn’t the type of music I picture myself listening to, but the album captures a certain relaxing yet nostalgic atmosphere, but also a degree of modernity that transcends any genre.

Simply put, or perhaps ordinarily put (not to mention cheesy), the album is like a quiet, sunny, misty morning with your loved one, plus a cozy cup of coffee — and I don’t even drink coffee.

Possible best tracks? River of Tears, Instead, To Love You All Over Again, and I Must Be Saved.

Rating: ★★★¾☆ 

Preview on | Like it? Buy the album on Amazon.comiTunes

Ghost Writer

Here. There. Everywhere. Punished soul that usually watches what nobody wants, but sometimes gets lucky.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.