Macy Gray – The Sellout

Release date: June 21, 2010
Label: Concord Records


  1. The Sellout
  2. Lately
  3. Kissed It featuring Velvet Revolver
  4. Still Hurts featuring Romika
  5. Beauty in the World
  6. Help Me
  7. Let You Win
  8. That Man
  9. Stalker
  10. Real Love featuring Bobby Brown
  11. On & On
  12. The Comeback

After the success of I Try, it seemed that Macy Gray had only moderate success, even if she had it all going for her. Recognizable voice, eccentricity, and talent, yet she faded into a unknown obscurity. In The Sellout is she coming back to commercial music? – she collaborates with the likes of Velvet Revolver for a really catchy beat-driven Kissed It.

That’s what The Sellout is – fresh, soothing… and happy. It’s carefree and it’s got a lot of soul. She’s got little to say in her songs – who does anyway? – but that’s because she’s carefree, right? Plus, she sounds great. The music speaks to us in a way that Beyonce or Rihanna haven’t been able to.

Best: The Sellout, Kissed It, Beauty in the World, Stalker

Rating: ★★★¾☆ 

Preview on | Like it? Buy the album on Amazon.comiTunes


YAM Magazine editor, photographer, blogger, translator and part-time web designer. Film junkie, music junkie… and lately series (a.k.a. TV) junkie.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.