Lenka – TWO

Release date: April 19, 2011
Label: Sony Music Entertainment


  1. Two
  2. Heart Skips A Beat
  3. Roll With The Punches
  4. Sad Song
  5. Everything At Once
  6. Blinded By Love
  7. Here To Stay
  8. You Will Be Mine
  9. Shock Me Into Love
  10. Everything’s Okay
  11. The End Of The World

If I could have background music in real life, Lenka’s songs would certainly be a constant. Her music is so TV-commercial ready. Her voice and her type of hipster music go together so well. It has a free spirited feeling to it. This is what I love about the album TWO. It’s sweet and lovely but with a bit of poetic flair to it. Very hipster, indeed.

On the other hand, in terms of lyrics, TWO tries to be inspirational. I say it accomplishes it to a certain degree. Only that it seems geared towards the teenage audience. Dreams of hope, words of encouragement, the hardships of life, all in the same happy-go-lucky sort of rhythm. The songs all have a ‘this speaks to me’ sort of feel. At some point, the album seems to all weld together into one big song if you’re not accustomed to the type of music. It might sound like I don’t like it, which is not true. I just wish the lyrical content was deeper.

My favorite songs on this are Two and Roll With the Punches. They’re super catchy. I’m going to put those in my iBrain for when I’m walking down the street on a sunny day. Certainly it can’t be denied that Lenka has a beautiful voice and her music is very enjoyable. It doesn’t matter what kind of music you prefer, this is bound to make you swing your head from side to side.

Rating: ★★★☆☆ 

Preview it in Xiami.com | Like it? Buy it in Amazon.com | iTunes


A Caribbean Islander who wants to fly. Criminal Justice graduate with a lot to say about social injustice. An eternal scholar. I want to know everything. I blame Disney for making me a total dreamer. My head is mostly in the clouds and I have background music in real life.

1 Response

  1. Emma says:

    Just heard her Arcade Fire cover of “Deep Blue” and am completely blown away by it! You have to check it out: http://aol.it/LenkaArcade

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.