Released: November 12, 2009
Label: Loen Entertainment


  1. 1. Love attack
  2. 기차를 타고 (Taking a Train)
  3. 마쉬멜로우 (Marshmallow)
  4. 아침 눈물 (Tear Drops In the Morning)
  5. 두근 두근 데이트 (Heart Beating Date)
  6. 기차를 타고 (Taking a Train) [Inst.]
  7. 아침 눈물 (Tear Drops In the Morning) [Inst.]

With IU’s second mini-album IU… IM, I feel like her label tried to sell IU as a cute idol-like artist. With the songs Marshmallow and Love Attack — which are cute, bubbly, energetic and very high-pitched/nasally — I guess they wanted to create music that would suit IU’s age (she was 16 at the time). But she should never sing that high again, it’s not that nice to our ears. Not that it sounds awful, but IU can really hit those high notes and your ears won’t love you for it.

There’s nothing wrong with that, but the funny thing is that those two songs don’t go well with the remaining three songs on the mini. Taking a train and Tear Drops In the Morning are your typical, soothing ballads. Very IU style.

I feel that this mini wanted to keep some of what IU is (ballads) and try out something new (cookie-cute kpop). Nothing wrong with that, it just gives you a very unbalanced mini. I’m really grateful they figured out where to go with IU’s style with her next mini, Real.

Rating: ★★★★☆ 

Preview on Xiami.com | Like it? Buy the album on YesAsia.comiTunes


Music is all I do: I work in music, I write about music, I listen to music.

3 Responses

  1. amy says:

    for having half the mini like that, I figured you should give this a 3 or something. Sometimes I don’t understand your bias. xD

    • Julili says:

      @amy, Well, those 2 songs may feel wrong combined with IU but they are kick ass songs…. I listen to Marshmallow daily….

  1. May 18, 2017

    […] such a young girl, her ability is amazing. That was why I was a bit annoyed with her previous mini IU… I’M. It was too sugary sweet and such a 180 from her debut mini LOST and […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.