2PM – Still 2:00PM

Release date: October 11, 2010
Label: JYP Entertainment


  1. Still
  2. I’ll Be Back
  3. 니가 나를 떠나도 (Even If You Leave Me)
  4. I Can’t
  5. I Know
  6. Dance2Night
  7. I’ll Be Back (Club MiX)

The latest mini-album by the “beasts” in Kpop is a great club album filled with a nice retro sound. And by retro I mean disco mixed with some kind of 90s sound.

Some of the songs here made me think of the New Kids on the Block… When the title track of this mini I’ll Be Back started to promote, I went very much *jawslack* — talk about disco gone wrong, oh so wrong.

However, disregarding the style used to promote this, well, the sound is good. Call me a sucker for mainstream promoted music, there is no denying that the JYP sound is addictive. Something about the beats, the tempo — it is like you want to hate the songs because they are so pop, yet you can’t help but listen to them constantly.

Funny thing about this mini is that the head honcho of JYP, Mr. J.Y. Park “The Asiansoul” produced just one of the songs on here. If this means that it made the mini better or worse, well I’m not really sure. All I know is that I like what I’m hearing.

Best track: I Can’t

Rating: ★★★¾☆ 

Preview on Xiami.com | Like it? Buy the album on YesAsia.com


Music is all I do: I work in music, I write about music, I listen to music.

2 Responses

  1. @redkyaa says:

    I'm not usually a 2pm listener. I mean out of their songs I can only mention about 2 or 3 that I found myself addicted to.
    When "I'll be back" came out I was not feeling it; to the point that I've not listened to the whole song more than once. But I found the song "I can't" today and gaaaah!!, just my style!
    I love the slow acoustic and sweet type of songs XD It fit thier vocals exceptionally ^_^

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.